Watch this video to learn about primary sources:
Archival materials are materials created or received by a person, family, organization, or business, in the conduct of their affairs. They are usually considered primary resources that serve as evidence of past actions and events.
Archival materials act as memory aids that allow us to recall and relive these activities and events, or to re-communicate information about them at some point in the future.
Archival materials are preserved as evidence of the functions and responsibilities of their creator or because of their enduring value.
Archival materials can include a wide variery of formats:
Archives usually create "finding aids," which are standardized descriptions of their collections. The purpose of the finding aid is to communicate to researchers:
This information should enable researchers to determine whether particular holdings are relevant to their research and thus warrant a visit to the archives to consult the original records in person. Like records in a library catalogue, archival finding aids do not typically include copies of the actual original records themselves. The vast majority of archival material must be consulted on-site.
However, many archives are now digitizing their holdings and making digital copies of records available online. For example, the Dalhousie University Archives Catalogue and Online Collections and the MemoryNS.ca website have the ability to "embed" digital copies of archival material directly to the finding aids.
Yes! Many of our most frequently used materials can be found in the University Reference Collection. The collection includes things like:
The reference collection is very large. We have prepared a Guide to the History of Dalhousie that helps identify key reference sources.
Contact Archives staff for assistance if you need help finding reference material.