Skip to main content

Film Studies

A Guide to Film Studies at Dalhousie

Home

Quick links

Research & Writing

RefWorks
A web-based citation manager, allowing you to compile, edit and format bibliographies by importing references directly from online databases, text files, or by entering them manually. Format references according to any citation style.

MLA Works Cited examples

The Chicago Manual of Style Online

A Guide for Writing Research Papers

How to Research a Term Paper

Academic Integrity @ Dalhousie University

Purdue University Writing Lab

Dr. Grammar's Frequently Asked Questions

Critical Evaluation of Web Resources

A Writer's Reference (Writing exercises)

Featured Video:TED Talks: "Beeban Kidron:The shared wonder of film"

New Film & Theatre Books

BBC: The Film Programme Podcasts

Databases

Databases

           

 

 

 

 

Academic Search Premier  

Perform a search (ie, "Welles and Citizen Kane" or "Lynch and Blue Velvet") and choose "Academic Journals".
 
           

 

 

 

 

America: History & Life  

For best results search filmmaker together with film title: ie, "Reed and Third Man", "Ford and Stagecoach".
 
           

 

 

 

 

Eureka.cc 
Use phrase searching for names and film titles (ie, "Lincoln Lawyer" and review; "atom egoyan" and "sweet hereafter")

 

           

 

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text  

Perform a search (ie, "Television violence and aggression") and choose Publication Type = "Academic Journal". Apply limits and filters to search results.
 
           

 

Film Literature Index  

Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries. Search by subject headings, names, production titles, or by corporate names.
 
           

 

 

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Click on "Arts" in subject list, and then choose "International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers".

 

           

 

Historical Abstracts  

For best results search director's name together with film title or concept (ie, "Luis Bunuel and surrealism").
 

 

           

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with full text  

Perform search (ie, "Lynch and Blue Velvet") and choose "Academic Journals".
 
           

 

JSTOR  

For best results choose "Advanced Search" and limit by Type=Article.
 
             

 

 

 
            MLA International Bibliography  
Perform a search (ie, "Hitchock and Rear Window") and select the "Peer-eviewed Journals" tab.
           

 

Periodicals Archive Online  

For best results, combine the director's name and film title in your search: ie, "Lynch and blue velvet", "Hitchcock and rear window".
 
           

 

Project Muse  

Searching "All Fields except text" yields more focused results than "All Fields (w/text)".
 
            Research Library  
For most relevant results, perform a search (ie, "Waters and Hairspray") and then choose "Scholarly Journals" tab.

Film Reviews & News

The Film Review

A standard film review is between 500 and 750 words in length, or between two and three and a half pages. Good film reviews do not simply summarize a movie's plot. They will instead provide a critical analysis that examines why and how a film works and whether it succeeds as a piece of art. When writing a review, make sure you have a central thesis and a set of supporting arguments. Note with specificity where the movie succeeds and where it fails, and discuss what you believe are the successful and unsuccessful elements. Be prepared to express an opinion and back it up with concrete examples. The most useful and persuasive film reviews are those that refer to scenes and dialogue from the movie to support an argument and illustrate points. 

Remember that good movies allow for and encourage multiple interpretations. In addition, if you assume that the reader of your review hasn't seen the movie, it will prevent you from revealing the content of climactic scenes.

Include basic information about the film (director, main players, if the movie is a sequel or part of a series) at the beginning of your review to provide context.

Place the film within the tradition in which it belongs. Try to compare this movie with other recent or older movies your reader might have seen. Later movies often borrow from the style, dialogue, and structure of earlier movies. Comparisons are useful points of reference. Ask if the film you are reviewing affects you in a manner reminiscent of another film. Does the film simply mimic a previous film or does it interpret it and expand on its ideas?

There are a number of approaches to writing a review: 1) plot-focused, 2) thematic or idea-focused, or 3) director- or actor-focused. It is quite valid for a film review to combine elements of these three approaches.

Finally, a reviewer will normally discuss how a movie functions on a variety of levels: psychological, technical, emotional, intellectual, maybe even spiritual. 

Ask yourself if the film lingers in your mind after you've watched it. Does it provoke you to question your assumptions? Does it make you look at society and the world differently? As a critic, it is no use for you to simply be angered or delighted by a film and leave it at that. You must be prepared to analyze and justify your response.

The best film reviewers respect film as art and want to share their passion for and insight into movies. They understand that the power of a great movie can be life-altering and they want their readers to share in this experience. The tricky part is conveying enthusiasm within an intellectual context, to be passionate and analytical at the same time. 

Based on: http://www.colorado.edu/AmStudies/
lewis/film/filmrws.htm

Internet Resources

Canadian

Evaluating Internet Resources

Finding Web Resources - This tutorial will introduce you to Internet resources and how to use them appropriately

Evaluating Web Resources - An introduction to evaluating web sites

Criteria for evaluating Web Sites - A list of six criteria specifically for evaluating the content of Web sites

Identify Sources of Information by URL - A quick guide to analyzing websites by their addresses

Website Checklist - Step-by-step guide on how to evaluate a website

Copyright

Distribution

Festivals

Film Journals Online

Film Studies & History

French

Gateways (for further links)

German

Indexes/Databases

Evaluating Internet Resources

Finding Web Resources - This tutorial will introduce you to Internet resources and how to use them appropriately

Evaluating Web Resources - An introduction to evaluating web sites

Criteria for evaluating Web Sites - A list of six criteria specifically for evaluating the content of Web sites

Identify Sources of Information by URL - A quick guide to analyzing websites by their addresses

Website Checklist - Step-by-step guide on how to evaluate a website

Industry/Production

Italian

Libraries/Archives

Mailorder Sites

Moving Images Online

Evaluating Internet Resources

Finding Web Resources - This tutorial will introduce you to Internet resources and how to use them appropriately

Evaluating Web Resources - An introduction to evaluating web sites

Criteria for evaluating Web Sites - A list of six criteria specifically for evaluating the content of Web sites

Identify Sources of Information by URL - A quick guide to analyzing websites by their addresses

Website Checklist - Step-by-step guide on how to evaluate a website

News & New Releases

Evaluating Internet Resources

Finding Web Resources - This tutorial will introduce you to Internet resources and how to use them appropriately

Evaluating Web Resources - An introduction to evaluating web sites

Criteria for evaluating Web Sites - A list of six criteria specifically for evaluating the content of Web sites

Identify Sources of Information by URL - A quick guide to analyzing websites by their addresses

Website Checklist - Step-by-step guide on how to evaluate a website

Organizations

Reviews (additional resources)

Evaluating Internet Resources

Finding Web Resources - This tutorial will introduce you to Internet resources and how to use them appropriately

Evaluating Web Resources - An introduction to evaluating web sites

Criteria for evaluating Web Sites - A list of six criteria specifically for evaluating the content of Web sites

Identify Sources of Information by URL - A quick guide to analyzing websites by their addresses

Website Checklist - Step-by-step guide on how to evaluate a website

Russian

Schools

Evaluating Internet Resources

Finding Web Resources - This tutorial will introduce you to Internet resources and how to use them appropriately

Evaluating Web Resources - An introduction to evaluating web sites

Criteria for evaluating Web Sites - A list of six criteria specifically for evaluating the content of Web sites

Identify Sources of Information by URL - A quick guide to analyzing websites by their addresses

Website Checklist - Step-by-step guide on how to evaluate a website

Spanish/Latin American

Women

Evaluating Internet Resources

Finding Web Resources - This tutorial will introduce you to Internet resources and how to use them appropriately

Evaluating Web Resources - An introduction to evaluating web sites

Criteria for evaluating Web Sites - A list of six criteria specifically for evaluating the content of Web sites

Identify Sources of Information by URL - A quick guide to analyzing websites by their addresses

Website Checklist - Step-by-step guide on how to evaluate a website

Theatre 3313: Documentary/Animation/Experimental

Library Research

The Library collects print and digital material to support student research. Library resources are organized according to standard classifications and listings that are intended to ease the process of finding information. Everything the library owns is included in the Novanet Catalogue, our online database. Printed resources and other physical objects (ie, videos, CDs, DVDs) are assigned "call numbers," alpha-numeric codes that do two things: place the item next to others on the same or similar topics, and provide a physical marker for the item's location on the library's shelves.  Digital materials, such as databases, e-Books, and e-Journals, are included in Novanet and also listed on our web pages.

Library research has always been a two-step process: identify the items you need, then determine if the library owns them. Databases are useful for identifying material because they attempt to cover the known universe of available information on a given topic. Novanet brings this down to the local level by letting you know if we own it.

Reference Shelf

Reference Shelf

This collection includes tools such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, and yearbooks. Reference sources for this subject are found in the Reference Room, on the Ground Floor of the Killam Library.

Canadian Film and Video : a Bibliography and Guide to the Literature PN 1993.5 C2 L47 1997 REF
The Complete Film Dictionary PN 1993.45 K66 REF
Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television: a Biographical Guide PN 2012 W623 REF
Dictionnaire filmographique de la littérature mondiale PN 1997.85 T5 REF
Encyclopedia of Early Cinema PN 1993.45 E53 2005 REF
The Encyclopedia of Filmmakers PN 1998.2 T53 2002 REF
The Film Encyclopedia PN 1993.45 K34 1994 REF
Film noir: The Encyclopedia PN 1995 F56 2010 REF
Halliwell's Film, Video & DVD Guide (2005) PN 1998 H433 REF
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (5 vols.) PN 1993.45 I49 1990 REF
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (Online)
International Film Index 1895-1990 (2 vol.) PN 1998 I52 1991 REF
The New York Times Film Reviews 1913-1976 (10 vol.) PN 1995 N4 REF *FULL TEXT*

Philosophy of Film (from the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy)

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (4 vols.)

PN 1993.45 S35 2007 REF
Selected Film Criticism 1896-1950 (6 vol.) PN 1995 S426 1982 REF *FULL TEXT*
Variety International Film Guide (annual) PN 1993.3 I544 REF

Help

Novanet Live Help

Novanet Live Help is an online reference service for Nova Scotia's universities and colleges. Please view the resources listed on this page and on the Online Tutorials page for a possible answer to your question before using this service.

For hours of service and additional information, please see this page.

Please enter your question in the appropriate box below.

 

Chat requires JavaScript.

Searching

Still have a question? - Ask Us

You may contact me directly (see contact info on the right), or feel free to use any of the Ask Us services.