Skip to main content

Film Studies

A Guide to Film Studies at Dalhousie

Library Research

The Library collects print and digital material to support student research. Library resources are organized according to standard classifications and listings that are intended to ease the process of finding information. Everything the library owns is included in the Novanet Catalogue, our online database. Printed resources and other physical objects (ie, videos, CDs, DVDs) are assigned "call numbers," alpha-numeric codes that do two things: place the item next to others on the same or similar topics, and provide a physical marker for the item's location on the library's shelves.  Digital materials, such as databases, e-Books, and e-Journals, are included in Novanet and also listed on our web pages.

Library research has always been a two-step process: identify the items you need, then determine if the library owns them. Databases are useful for identifying material because they attempt to cover the known universe of available information on a given topic. Novanet brings this down to the local level by letting you know if we own it.

Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly articles on your research topic. Search results will often include references to books and chapters of books.

Reference Shelf

These are shelved in the Reference Collection in the South Learning Commons on the ground floor of the Killam Library.

The Complete Film Dictionary PN 1993.45 K66 1997
The Encyclopedia of Filmmakers PN 1998.2 T53 2002
The Film Encyclopedia PN 1993.45 K34 1994
Film Noir: the Encyclopedia PN 1995 F56 2010
The Film Studies Dictionary PN 1993.45 B49 2001
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (5 vols.) PN 1993.45 I49 1990
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (Online)
The Oxford Guide to Film Studies PN 1995 O93 1998
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (4 vols.) PN 1993.45 S35 2007