A general account of music periodicals and their history, followed by a comprehensive list of music periodicals from 1722 to the present. The list is arranged by continent and country. This article also includes a link to a specialized list of periodicals in The New Grove Dictionary of Opera.
List of open access music journals compiled by Alexander Street Press staff as part of the Open Music Library portal. The journals are indexed alongside 600+ fee-based journals. Users can turn on the “OA toggle” on during searches to only retrieve articles from open access journals..
Founded in 1935; American Record Guide is America’s oldest classical music review magazine. There are up to 500 reviews in every issue, written by a freelance staff of over 80 writers and music critics. Many issues have an “Overview”, an extensive survey of recordings of one composer or one area of the repertoire, such as “Guitar Music”.
Current Musicology is a leading journal for scholarly research on music. The journal publishes articles and book reviews in the fields of historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, and philosophy of music. The journal was founded in 1965 by graduate students at Columbia University as a semiannual review.
Early Music is a leading journal for anyone interested in early music and how it is being interpreted today. Contributions from scholars and performers on international standing explore every aspect of earlier musical repertoires, present vital new evidence for our understanding of the music of the past, and tackle controversial issues of performance practice.
Provides free full-text access to issues of Music Trade Review (N.Y.) published between 1880 -1933 and 1940-1954 . Journal covers all aspects of music production from mechanical music to phonographs, jukeboxes and radio. Full-text access is also provided to the music trade journal Presto ( 1920-1941).
The International Journal of Music Education (IJME) is a peer-reviewed journal published by the International Society for Music Education (ISME). Papers in this journal contain empirical research on teaching and learning of music (international focus).
The Journal of Music History Pedagogy is a bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open-access, on-line journal dedicated to the publication of original articles and reviews related to teaching music history of all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics).
The Journal of Music Teacher Education includes general interest articles and research articles (philosophical, historical, quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods) related to music teacher education.
Journal of Research in Music Education is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal comprising reports of original research related to music teaching and learning. The wide range of topics includes various aspects of music pedagogy, history, and philosophy, and addresses vocal, instrumental, and general music at all levels, from early childhood through adult.
Music Education Research is an international refereed journal which draws its contributions from a wide community of researchers. The focus is firmly on research, and the journal provides an international forum for cross-cultural investigations and discussions relating to all areas of music education.
Music Educators Journal offers peer-reviewed scholarly and practical articles on music teaching approaches and philosophies, instructional techniques, current trends and issues in music education in schools and communities and the latest in products and services.
Philosophy of Music Education Review includes articles that address philosophical or theoretical issues relevant to education, including reflections on current practice, research issues or questions, reform initiatives, philosophical writings, theories, the nature and scope of education and its goals and purposes, and cross-disciplinary dialogue relevant to the interests of music educators.