Skip to main content

Music

A guide to the Music resources available in the Killam Library.

Sound recordings

The Killam Memorial Library has sound recordings available in three main formats:

A limited number of audio cassettes and other audio formats can be found in the music collection and in Special Collections. Sound recordings are organized according to a slightly modified version of the Library of Congress classification system.

Archival sound recordings

Archival sound recordings are also available. This music guide provides a selection of music archives availalble in the Killam Memorial Library. See the University Archives' page on visual and performing arts archives for more information. 

Archival material cannot be found in Novanet. Search the Archives Catalogue and Online Collections. See the Guide to Archival Research for more information on searching and browsing the archival collections.

Finding sound recordings in the Killam Memorial Library

The Library's collection of music scores, sound recordings, and books is located on the first floor of the Killam Memorial Library. The Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize our collections. Music resources are organized into the following sections:

M (Music)

ML (Music literature)

MT (Music theory)

 

Classification of Scores and Sound Recordings in the Killam Library Music Collection

Dalhousie Libraries classifies scores and sound recordings using a slightly modified version of the Library of Congress Classification. Students and faculty can use this guide to browse scores and sound recordings. Books are classified according to the standard Library of Congress Classification and can be browsed according to the official classification outline for music (see ML and MT “sub-classes”).