Skip to main content

Theatre

A guide to Theatre Studies.

Databases and Indexes

The databases listed here are largely full-text journal sites.  Some are indexes that search for and list references but do not contain a pdf of the article.  Use the Get It At Dal button to see if the article is held by another database at Dalhousie, if it is available in print, or you can order a copy through Document Delivery. 

Some platforms, such as EBSCO, host multiple databases.  It is possible to search in several databases at once by clicking on Choose Databases (top right) on the EBSCO interface.

Databases such as the International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance are subject specific, while others such as Academic Search Premier are broad and can contain references from thousands of journals spanning many disciplines.  Databases also contain references to books and videos, have dictonary definitions, and contain historical full texts of plays or literature.  See Finding Plays and Reference Shelf for more of these resources.

A reference librarian can assist with search strategies and resource management.  The reference desk is located in the North Learning Commons at the Killam Library.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance

Perform search (ie, "Beckett and dialog*") and choose "Academic Journals".

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Limit Your Results

North American Theatre Online

Literature & History Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Biographical Databases

Use these databases to find biographical details about people associated with theatre and acting, and on other historical figures. Search results will often include references to books and chapters of books.