Skip to main content

Maritime Law

Links & Tasks

Loading

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Law Library has several legal dictionaries and encyclopedias to assist you. Most are shelved in the reference section, located in the Information Commons on the main (2nd) floor.

Some key resources (all available at the Law Library unless otherwise noted):

Bibliographies

Bibliographies

The following bibliographies can provide you with useful source material on maritime law. Bibliographies are shelved in the reference section on the main floor.

Key Looseleaf Series

Searching Novanet

Searching Novanet

Subject keyword searches in the Novanet Catalogue can often be limited by jurisdiction; e.g., "environmental law" and "Nova Scotia." Some potential subject search terms are provided below.

  • Admiralty               
  • Baselines (Maritime Law)
  • Coastal Zone Management
  • Contracts, Maritime
  • Contiguous Zones (Maritime Law)
  • Economic Zones (Maritime Law)
  • Harbors -- Law and Legislation
  • Insurance, Marine
  • International Convention on Salvage (1989)
  • International Law
  • International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea (1972)
  • Jurisdiction Over Ships at Sea
  • Maritime Law
  • Ocean Bottom (Maritime Law)
  • Salvage
  • Search, Right of
  • Shipping
  • Shipping Conferences
  • Territorial Waters
  • United Nations Convention on the Carriage of Goods by Sea (1978)
  • United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (1982)
  • War, Maritime (International Law)

Common Abbreviations

Common Abbreviations

You may encounter several abbreviations in your study of maritime law. Below is a list of some of the most common. A more complete list is available online at The Nautical Institute. For abbreviations not on these lists, you may want to consult a general abbreviations/acronyms dictionary (shelved in the K 13.7 area of the Reference Collection) or a dictionary of maritime and shipping terms (KB 146 - KB 148 of the Reference Collection)

  • CMI - Comite Maritime International
  • ECOSOC - Economic and Social Council
  • EEZ - Exclusive Economic Zone
  • IAPH - International Association of Ports and Harbors
  • IMCO - Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organisation
  • IMO - International Maritime Organisation
  • MARPOL 73/78 - International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships
  • SOLAS - International Convention for Safety of Life at Sea 1974
  • UNCITRAL - United Nations Commission on Trade Law
  • UNCLOS - United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea
  • UNCTAD - United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
  • UNIDROIT - International Institute for the Unification of Private Law

Search