Skip to main content

International Human Rights Law

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights


The IACHR is a principal and autonomous organ of the Organization of American States (“OAS”) whose mission is to promote and protect human rights in the American hemisphere. It is composed of seven independent members who serve in a personal capacity. Created by the OAS in 1959, the Commission has its headquarters in Washington, D.C. Together with the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (“the Court” or “the I/A Court H.R.), installed in 1979, the Commission is one of the institutions within the inter-American system for the protection of human sights (“IAHRS”). (From Homepage)

Inter-American Court of Human Rights


The Inter-American Court of Human Rights, in San José, Costa Rica, is an autonomous judicial institution of the Organization of American States established in 1979, and whose objective is the application and interpretation of the American Convention on Human Rights and other treaties concerning this same matter. 




Inter-American Commission on Women


Established in 1928, the Inter-American Commission of Women (CIM) was the first inter-governmental agency established to ensure recognition of women's human rights. CIM is made up of 34 Delegates, one for each OAS Member State, and has become the principal forum for debating and formulating policy on women's rights and gender equality in the Americas.

Legal Framework


Democracy / Citizenship