Skip to main content

Research Dissemination (School of Law)

Making Your Article Highly Visible

Step 1: Choose Well Indexed Journals - Good journals should tell you where they are indexed, and widely indexed articles are easier to locate.

Dalhousie Law Journal is indexed in Index to Canadian Legal Literature, Canadian Current Law Index, Scott's Index to Canadian Legal Literature, Index to Legal Literature, and LegalTrac.

Step 2: Choose Highly Ranked Journals - Higher ranked journals are usually read and cited more frequently and may be considered more authoritative.

Dalhousie Law Journal is ranked 11 among Canadian Law Journals in the Washington and Lee 2013 Journal Rankings.

Step 3: Choose Widely Accessible Journals - Journals available through a variety of databases/collections will be access more easily.

Dalhousie Law Journal articles are available though HeinOnline journal database, ILP Full-text, ProQuest CBCA Complete, WestlawNext Canada, and Lexis-Nexis Quicklaw.

CC License: "Binoculars V", Chase Elliott Clark, 2013, https://www.flickr.com/photos/chasblackman/8502151556/

Step 1: Choose Well Indexed Journals

Canadian Law Indices

Index to Canadian Legal Literature - WestlawNextCanada | Quicklaw (Subscription Database - Law Faculty Only | Law Library, 2nd Floor, Primary Sources Collection, Aisle 33).

Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) is a bibliographic database providing thorough coverage of Canadian law journal literature. ICLL indexes journals, law reports, books, book reviews, theses, essay collections and Canadiana Forthcoming Books.

Canadian Current Law - Canadian Legal Literature (Law Library, 2nd Floor, Primary Sources Collection, Aisle 33.)

An index and bibliography of Canadian legal literature classified according to Library of Congress subject headings and the Repertoire de Vedettes-matiere. This is a supplement to the bound volumes of the ICLL.

An Index and bibliography of Canadian legal literature classified according to Library of Congress Subject Headings and the Répertoire de vedettes-matière. - See more at: http://www.carswell.com/product-detail/canadian-current-law-complete-service-3-segments/#sthash.BUo0OlcH.dpuf
An Index and bibliography of Canadian legal literature classified according to Library of Congress Subject Headings and the Répertoire de vedettes-matière. - See more at: http://www.carswell.com/product-detail/canadian-current-law-complete-service-3-segments/#sthash.BUo0OlcH.dpuf
An Index and bibliography of Canadian legal literature classified according to Library of Congress Subject Headings and the Répertoire de vedettes-matière. - See more at: http://www.carswell.com/product-detail/canadian-current-law-complete-service-3-segments/#sthash.BUo0OlcH.dpuf
Canadian Legal Literature
An Index and bibliography of Canadian legal literature classified according to Library of Congress Subject Headings and the Répertoire de vedettes-matière. - See more at: http://www.carswell.com/product-detail/canadian-current-law-complete-service-3-segments/#sthash.BUo0OlcH.dpuf
Canadian Legal Literature
An Index and bibliography of Canadian legal literature classified according to Library of Congress Subject Headings and the Répertoire de vedettes-matière. - See more at: http://www.carswell.com/product-detail/canadian-current-law-complete-service-3-segments/#sthash.BUo0OlcH.dpuf

Scott's Index to Legal Literature (Free Online Resource)

Indexes Canadian legal journals and legal articles in journals from related fields, Political Science, for example. Also indexes texts from legal conferences; and case comments. To search by keyword (English or French), click on ‘Recherche simple’.

Foreign Law Indices 

The Index to Common Law Festschriften

As at September 2005, there are some 270 common law Festschriften indexed on this database, amounting to over 4,500 chapter entries. In addition, there are more than a thousand entries of English language contributions to predominantly foreign language, non-common law legal Festschriften from Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (1962-2011, 3rd floor, Journals Collection)

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) provides citations to articles about foreign, comparative and international law from 1985 to the present. Materials indexed include articles from 450 journals, congressional reports, chapters in books, yearbooks, and book reviews. Materials in all languages are included. (In English or French.)

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books | ILP Retrospective (Subscription Database - Dalhousie Only)

The Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (ILP) provides citations to articles in law reviews, bar association journals, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications from 1980 to present. ILP Retrospective provides coverage from 1908-1981.

 

Step 2: Choose Highly Ranked Journals

The ranking of journals is still hotly debated and there are a number of formulas used to assign value to journals. It is instructive to consider the methodologies behind these rankings. These are two of the most widely used law journal rankings system.

1. Washington and Lee's Law Journal Ranking  (Free Online)

  • most widely used law journal ranking system in North America.
  • U.S., Canadian and International journals published in the preceding eight years
  • counts citations in Westlaw's JLR journal database and Federal & State Case Law (ALLCASES)
  • Impact-factor shows the average number of annual citations to articles in each journal
  • Currency-factor aims to compare journals on how rapidly their articles become cited.

2. ISI Web of Science Journal Citation Reports (Dalhousie Subscription)

  • Select JCR Social Sciences Edition - Year - Category: Law
  • 139 Law Journals mostly U.S. with some International Titles (No Canadian Journals)
  • 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries
  • Size of the journal, number of citations and impact of journal
  • Online Tutorial

Step 3: Choose Widely Accessible Journals

Journals that are widely available in journal databases also will be easier to locate. Open Access journals are available freely online.

Example:

Dalhousie Law Journal is available in print and through several databases including HeinOnline, Index to Legal Periodicals Full-text, ProQuest CBCA Complete, WestlawNext Canada, and Lexis-Nexis Quicklaw.

Dalhousie Journal of Legal Studies is an open access journal available freely online.  It is also available in print, and through the HeinOnlineWestlawNext Canada, and Lexis-Nexis Quicklaw