Skip to main content

Research Dissemination (School of Law)

Archiving in an Online Repository

Published research has been traditionally accessed through print publications and/or subscription online databases.  The new Tri-Council Open Access Policy seeks to ensure that any research funded through their agencies is also freely available online. To meet this requirement you can archive your papers in institutional or subject repositories (e.g. SSRN, Mendeley, ResearchGate, Academia etc.)

Learn more about Open Access publishing here.

First Steps

Subject Repository: Social Science Research Network (SSRN) - Law Scholarship Network

The Schulich School of Law is encouraging posting materials in SSRN. Contact the Law Library for faculty support in creating your SSRN account and uploading your materials.

What Can I Archive

What can I archive?

Publishers have different policies for archiving journal articles.  Authors should be be aware of these general policies but also the opportunities to negotiate individual rights.  The online database SHERPA/RoMEO provides the policies for many academic journals.  A typical record looks like the example below of the Alberta Law Review. 

Journal: Alberta Law Review (ISSN: 0002-4821)
RoMEO: This is a RoMEO white journal
Author's Pre-print: cross  author cannot archive pre-print (ie pre-refereeing)
Author's Post-print: cross  author cannot archive post-print (ie final draft post-refereeing)
Publisher's Version/PDF: No information  archiving status unknown
General Conditions:
  • Authors may post citation and link to electronic copy of the journal on Quicklaw or HeinOnline (password protected sites)
Mandated OA: (Awaiting information)
Copyright: Not available online
Updated: 14-Aug-2008 - Suggest an update for this record
Link to this page: http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/issn/0002-4821/
Published by: Alberta Law Review Society - White Policies in RoMEO
This summary is for the journal's default policies, and changes or exceptions can often be negotiated by authors.

This journal is a white journal meaning it is highly restrictive. Authors cannot archive pre-review or post review drafts of their articles.

Journal: Cambridge Law Journal (ISSN: 0008-1973, ESSN: 1469-2139)
RoMEO: This is a RoMEO green journal
Paid OA: A paid open access option is available for this journal.
Author's Pre-print: green tick  author can archive pre-print (ie pre-refereeing)
Author's Post-print: green tick  author can archive post-print (ie final draft post-refereeing)
Publisher's Version/PDF: cross  author cannot archive publisher's version/PDF
General Conditions:
  • Author's Pre-print on author's personal website, departmental website, social media websites, institutional repository, non-commercial subject-based repositories, such as PubMed Central, Europe PMC or arXiv
  • Author's post-print on author's personal website, departmental website, institutional repository, non-commercial subject-based repositories, such as PubMed Central, Europe PMC or arXiv, on acceptance of publication
  • Publisher's version/PDF cannot be used
  • Published abstract may be deposited
  • Pre-print to record acceptance for publication
  • Publisher copyright and source must be acknowledged with set statement, for deposit of Authors Post-print or Publisher's version/PDF
  • Must link to publisher version
Mandated OA: Compliance data is available for 19 funders
Paid Open Access: Cambridge Open - Selected Journals Only
Copyright: Open Access Options
Updated: 07-Oct-2014 - Suggest an update for this record
Link to this page: http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/issn/0008-1973/
Published by: Cambridge University Press (CUP): HSS Journals [University Publisher] - Green Policies in RoMEO
For: University of Cambridge, Faculty of Law [Client Organisation] - Suggest to RoMEO
Guidance: Please see the list of Publisher Categories in RoMEO for guidance on interpreting the priority of multiple publishers.
These summaries are for the journal's default policies, and changes or exceptions can often be negotiated by authors.

This journal is a green journal meaning they are very open to archiving. Authors can archive pre and post review drafts but for the publishers final PDF.

Archiving Tools