Skip to main content

International Law

Links & Tasks

Loading

Journals

Journals

The following journals on international law may be useful in your research. Holdings may vary between print and electronic resources; if the issue you require is not available from the Law Library, you may be able to obtain it through a Novanet Express request or via and Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery. Most periodicals are located on the 3rd floor of the Law Library and are shelved alphabetically by title. To search Novanet for periodicals on a particular subject, select Journals from the top of the screen and then search as usual. Additional journals may be available through WestlaweCarswell or LexisNexis Quicklaw A complete list of legal periodicals available through Dalhousie Libraries can be found here.

For journals specific to maritime law, please refer to the Maritime Law LibGuide. International criminal law journals can be found on the Criminal Law LibGuide.

Loading

Indices and Databases

Indices & Databases

The following periodical indices and databases can aid you to locate materials on international law and human rights. For assistance in finding treaties, please refer to the International Materials tab.

Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) - Print / LexisNexis (Print copies are located in the main floor reference section and with the current periodicals on the 3rd floor)

Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP) - Indexes articles from 615+ legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, New Zealand and Australia.

Legaltrac - Indexes articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice, and legal subjects such as Taxation and International Law. British Commonwealth and European Union cases and law are also included.

The Index to Common Law Festschrift - The German word Festschrift is now the universally accepted term in the legal academy for a published collection of legal essays written by several authors to honour a distinguished jurist or to mark a significant legal event.

Journals, Indices & Databases: Special Categories

Locating International Human Rights Journal Articles

Indices & Databases

The following periodical indices and databases can aid you to locate materials on international law and human rights.

Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) - Print / LexisNexis (Subscription Service) / Westlaw (Subscription Service).  Print copies are located in the main floor reference section and with the current periodicals on the 3rd floor.

Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP) - Indexes articles from 615+ legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, New Zealand and Australia.

Legaltrac - Indexes articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice, and legal subjects such as Taxation and International Law. British Commonwealth and European Union cases and law are also included.

International Human Rights Law

Selected Dalhousie subscriptions to International Human Rights journals and periodicals:

Open Source Journals

Open Access Journals and Indices

Festschriften

Loading

Guides

Legal Indices Quick Guide

Index to Legal Periodicals

ILP
Indexes articles from 615+ legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, New Zealand and Australia.

Locating Canadian Law Journal Articles

ICLL

The most effective and efficient way to locate Canadian law articles and essays is the Index to Canadian Legal Literature. You can search by subject/author for articles and book reviews and by citation for case/legislation comments.

Where to find this set:

1. Print (2nd floor reference/3rd floor journals)

2. WestlawCanada (Password Required): LawSource - ICLL

3. LexisNexis Quicklaw (Password Required) - ICLL

Database Collections of Law Journals

1. HeinOnline Contains more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.

2. LexisNexis Quicklaw Contains 33 Canadian law journals, and several collections of foreign law journals (U.S., U.K., Aust. etc.). Foreign law collections can be located under Source Directory tab -- Browse Sources--Filter by Country.

3. Westlaw Canada


Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) -- Westlaw Canada


Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) -- LexisNexis Quicklaw

Loading

Search