Killam CollectionStatistics Canada
Affiliated AgenciesNews Feeds
In the News
This is the "Home" page of the "Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Government Documents   Tags: documents, government  

a pathfinder for finding government documents.
Last update: Jan 27, 2012 URL: http://dal.ca.libguides.com/govdocs  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

HomePrint Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Which Font

Finding gov docs

 

News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Parliament of Canada

Parliamentary Gateway

Today in the House

ParlVu WebCast


Includes Debates (Hansard) and Journals of the Senate and the House of Commons. Available in hard copy under call numbers DOC 2FG X (House of Commons) and DOC 2FG Y (Senate) in the Government Documents Area on the second floor of the Killam Library.


About Chamber Business offers useful descriptions of the various publications, and LEGISinfo,from the Library of Parliament, provides information about the legislative stages completed, as well as background, analysis and other general information on most bills


Committee Business (online from January 1994 to date) includes the minutes and proceedings of Standing, Special, Legislative, and Joint Committees. Committee business includes the consideration of Bills in order to report on same to the House of Commons and/or Senate. More background can be found at About Committee Business. The hard copy collection of the Committee publications can be found under call numbers DOC 2FG XC (House of Commons) and DOC 2FG YC (Senate).

A search and browse feature is now available for the House of Commons Debates (Hansard) and Committee Evidence from the start of the 39th Parliament --- the Journals were added for the 40th Parliament, Second Session.


The Killam Library forwards the paper copies of all pending Bills to the Law Library where they are kept until they become law. specifically, they are published in the "Assented to" Acts service, Part III of the Canada Gazette and the annual Statutes of Canada. See also the Consolidated Statutes and Regulations database on the Department of Justice for online, but unofficial, acts, regulation, and other legislative information.


Canada Gazette

Official newspaper of the Government of Canada, the Canada Gazette includes new statutes and regulations, proposed regulations, decisions of administrative boards and an assortment of federal government notices. The Killam Library forwards hard copies to the Law Library..

Part I notices, appointments, proposed regulations
Part II regulations and other statutory instruments
Part III proclamations of recent Public Acts


Orders in Council database search from 1990

OICs from July 1, 1867 to 1910


Virtual Library: Parliamentary Research Branch Publications

While these are not official proceedings, these background papers on proposed legislation and current issues are quite helpful for students.

 

the Public Purse

Budget Info

The Budget is released most years to set out the government's priorities for spending and the taxation required to meet them. This document is prepared by the Dept. of Finance and released early in the year. Also available in hard copy at DOC 2FG F 1-23


Estimates for the Government of Canada and Other Supporting Documents

The Estimates along with the Minister of Finance's Budget, detail the government's resource allocation priorities and departmental expenditure plans for the coming year. The estimates and other supporting documents are prepared by the Treasury Board Secretariat and tabled in the House of Commons as part of the government's request to Parliament for authority to spend public monies. Also available in hard copy at DOC 2FG F 1-2


Public Accounts

The Public Accounts are tabled annually in Parliament to audit the government's expenditures both in summary and by individual ministry. Available in print at DOC 2FG F 1-1.


Auditor General's Annual Report

The Auditor General's annual report to the Public Accounts Committee is an independent audit of the financial affairs of most agencies of the federal government including a determination of value received. Available in hard copy at DOC 2FG FA 1.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Phyllis Ross
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait