Research Bootcamp for Research Assistants & Teaching Assistants
Register now for the 4th annual Dalhousie Libraries Research Bootcamp! Bootcamp sessions are free to Dalhousie graduate students.
Sessions will run from May 14-June 6 and will cover library basics; literature reviews (searching & writing); citation tools; writing abstracts & grant proposals; copyright, open access & academic publishing; legal resources; engineering resources; Pubmed & other health sciences databases; humanities resources; Canadian data & stats; grey literature; research data management; Excel; data visualization; conference posters.
Sponsored by the Nova Scotian Institute of Science, the contest offers a prize of $750 to the winning article written by a graduate student and a prize of $500 to that written by an undergraduate student. The competition is open to all students registered at a university in Nova Scotia.
The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can search the collections and repositories of seven Canadian science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available to access or download.
The NSG Library is the digital library and official archive for NOAA Sea Grant documents across the USA. Subject content includes oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law.
The Agricultural & Environmental Science database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, Environmental Science and Pollution Management (ESPM) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
This database allows you to identify the scholarly journals which are the most prominent in a specific area of research. It can serve to familiarize you with many of the journal titles available in the field of oceanography.
The screenshots in this handout show you how to use the Biological Abstracts database to find journal articles for your assignments. A topic from the field of evolution is used as an example, but the search process is similar for any other biology topic you may happen to have.